Kevin Thai Photography

StopSnoring MakeMistakes ShareEverything

Day 15: Stop the Bullying


Day 15

Wow, DIY Photography wrote an article about me. That’s so cool.

I’ve spent the last few days doing a lot of “photoshopping” on Pixelmator and countless hours watching YouTube videos. There are TONS of videos for creating light saber effects for GIMP and Photoshop, but ZERO for Pixelmator. So I was going to do that tonight. But I wanted to get away from the computer and heavy editing and focus more on the simple things again. I did two LEGO 365 that ended around a hundred days. I wanted to do something simple again. Something a little fun.

The first concept began with wanting to do some Jedi stuff, using the baseball bat as his “lightsaber” Then I was like – too much work. Then maybe have them play “Monkey in the Middle” or “Ninja Monkey Sneak Attack (!)” and was like no, that’s also too much work as I would have to use Aperture 2 to clone out those wires. I found my Donkey Kong, a going away gift from my students. And I remember a post my friend Melanie had on her Facebook about bullying. More Info @ bullyingstatistics.org

The one you just called fat? Has been starving & has lost over 30lbs. The one you just called stupid? Has a learning disability and studies over four hours every night. The one you just called ugly? Spends hours putting makeup on hoping people will like them. The one you just tripped? Is abused enough at home. There’s a lot more to people than you think. Put this as your status if your against bullying…

And there it is, my concept for tonight. There were three difficulties for this photo.

  1. One was getting the composition right. Where do I want to place all y characters to tell a story in one frame. How to position heads, faces, hands, props, lights, staging. That took up most of the night to do.
  2. Two was getting the Depth of Field proper. Remember I didn’t want to spend a lot of time in Aperture 2 artificially changing the DOF. I decided to set myself between f/8 and f/10 and played around with composition at the same time.
  3. And finally, where to place the light in order to have the most impact. I knew it was okay to have the LEGO Gorilla to be dark, because the focus was on Donkey Kong’s eyes and the Baseball Player’s expression. I wasn’t able to get enough light on the Player because I was holding down Donkey Kong and so would block the light. I knew that was going to be post processed. I added a reflector to the right, hoping to shine just a splash of light onto Donkey Kong’s face. It worked.
March 16, 2011 - Posted by | Concept to Completion, LEGO | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

