Kevin Thai Photography

StopSnoring MakeMistakes ShareEverything

Day 3: Make Pies. Not Wars.


Ever since waking up this morning, I’ve been thinking about what I wanted to do. I knew I was going to the amazing Tartine today and I HAD to create a photo with one of their pies. PIES!! But I also felt the need to challenge myself and try something I’ve only done once – a diptych. So I was thinking all day and I then remembered Megan had an Ugly Doll that had an apron and I was like, BINGO! But… what’s the story? How can I tell a story in 5 frames or less?

Project Looking Glass - Day 3

The more answers I found, the more questions that arose and more problems to solve. How do I have Apron Ugly Doll hold a knife? Luckily that day I bought some fishing wire and could use that. From this close to the photo, the thick clear wires were clearly visible so a slight repairing was done in Aperture 2. I also messed up a little bu setting the softbox slightly off center of the subjects, so there was a lot of vignetting which was a major pain to post process.

In order to create the story, I downloaded a trial version of Comic Life. It’s actually pretty awesome and I can save a file at 600 pixels per square inch! I may buy this program at the end of the 30 day trial after I play around with it some more.

March 3, 2011 - Posted by | Food, Ugly Dolls

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

