Kevin Thai Photography

StopSnoring MakeMistakes ShareEverything

Day 1: Unemployment is Fun-Employment!


Project Looking Glass - Day 1

I’ve been working at the same company for nearly four years now and I’ve had the time of my life as an English Teacher in South Korea. Though some may say I’m more of an entertainer than an educator. Either way I’m going to miss my students and the friends that I’ve made. With all this time on my hands, I’ve decided to take on a pretty big project to blog, photograph, and video every single day (in addition to eating, walking the dog, watching TV, and bathroom stuff). I just didn’t realize how much WORK it would take. 6 hours!! SIX hours from start to finish – mostly from trying to figure out how to take the video off my iPhone and then edit and upload it.

But hey, I got it done. And I’m proud of myself. Hopefully tomorrow won’t take so long to do.

Right on. Now to what I’m doing and why I’m doing it.

First (and the most stupid) Reason – I’m overly ambitious and probably will fail before month’s end.
Second (and the most egotistical) Reason – I don’t think anyone else is doing this. I know some people have done a Blog/Vlog everyday, or take a photo a day, or sometimes included a behind the scenes photo/video every once in a while. But not all three.
Third (and most important) Reason – I’m still a teacher. I have always wanted to be a teacher and I’ve always enjoyed learning and teaching and sharing things for free. I’ve admired some great photographers who have contributed so much to my photography through their generous hearts in forms of videos and photo diagrams.
Fourth (and a more personal) Reason – I want to become a better photographer and film maker. Practicing everyday will force me to push the limits of my creativity, my endurance, and my software. With access to YouTube – I’m hoping to meet some photographers or film makers who can help me with tips and other suggestions, too.

So I need to set up some rules:

  1. Take a photo a day – Even if it’s an iPhone photo with no post processing. A photo of ANYTHING.
  2. Take a video a day – That must show some insight behind the camera whether that means I’ll show the set up, do a Vlog, a walk about with clients, etc
  3. Blog everyday – Even if that means just posting the video and photo and saying “hi.” Something must go up.
February 28, 2011 - Posted by | LEGO, Toy Story

2 Comments »

  1. So you assembled our gift !!

    Comment by Blackcat | February 28, 2011 | Reply

  2. Yup! First thing I did when I went home đŸ˜€

    Comment by K-Thai | March 1, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

